Disease Prevention and Treatment Experts

Date posted: July 30, 2010

When it comes to battling diseases that have vexed mankind for millennia, you won’t find any more committed scientists than the biochemists, biologists, microbiologists, geneticists, toxicologists and others in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences who are working together across disciplines and with partners in other agencies and universities on a range of human health problems, from cancer and atherosclerosis to malaria and Lyme diseases. Because of their commitment, we know more about these diseases, and we have better tools to fight them.

Robert Anholt
William Neal Reynolds Professor and Director, W.M. Keck Center for Behavioral Biology
919-515-1173
robert_anholt@ncsu.edu

Understanding chemosensory behavior in Drosophila, a powerful genetic model system for human health (startle behavior, alcohol sensitivity, glaucoma)

Charles Apperson
William Neal Reynolds Professor
Entomology
919-515-4326
charles_apperson@ncsu.edu

Development of insect and tick repellents and textiles to protect humans and animals from vector-borne diseases

Melissa Ashwell
Associate Professor
Animal Science
919-513-7488
melissa_ashwell@ncsu.edu

Investigation of changes in chondrocyte gene expression following an impact injury and how these changes relate to observed tissue damage (early stages of osteoarthritis)

James Bonner
Associate Professor
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-8615
james_bonner@ncsu.edu

Research on the cellular and molecular mechanisms of lung injury and repair in models of environmental lung diseases such as pulmonary fibrosis and asthma, with emphasis on toxicology of nanomaterials

Dennis Brown
Professor and Department Head
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-515-5802
dennis_brown@ncsu.edu

Development of vaccines against four dengue virus serotypes as well as Chikungunya and West Nile viruses

James Brown
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Teaching Coordinator
Microbiology
919-515-8803
james_brown@ncsu.edu

Investigation of RNA structure and function, microbial diversity and molecular evolution

John Cavanagh
William Neal Reynolds Professor
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-513-4349
john_cavanagh@ncsu.edu

Research on mechanistic and molecular recognition features of proteins in bacterial regulatory and protection processes and development of an adjuvant that breaks antibiotic-resistant microbial biofilms

Clay Clark
Associate Professor
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-515-5805
clay_clark@ncsu.edu

Investigation of protein folding and the role of amino acid sequence identity in determining folding pathways of homologous proteins significant in a number of human diseases

Rob Dunn
Assistant Professor
Biology
919-513-7569
rob_dunn@ncsu.edu

Research on the geography of human diseases

Patricia Estes
Associate Professor
Genetics
919-513-2718
pat_estes@ncsu.edu

Elucidation of the genetic control of central nervous system midline cells using a Drosophila model

Vivek Fellner
Associate Professor
Animal Science
919-515-4018
vivek_fellner@ncsu.edu

Identification and enhancement of potent anti-cancer and anti-obesity compounds found only in ruminant fat; research into methane mitigation to improve environmental quality

Billy Flowers
Alumni Distinguished Professor
Animal Science
919-515-4003
william_flowers@ncsu.edu

Participation in collaborative project with UNC-CH using pigs as a model for studying ways to prevent atherosclerosis by treating them with antibodies that could reduce or prevent the formation of plaques in artery walls

Fred Gould
William Neal Reynolds Professor
Entomology
919-515-1647
fred_gould@ncsu.edu

Development of methods to suppress disease from dengue viruses based on use of transgenic strains of mosquitoes that can no longer transmit the virus to humans

Hosni Hassan
Professor
Microbiology
919-515-7081
hosni_hassan@ncsu.edu

Investigation of the global regulatory roles of redox and iron in metabolism and virulence of Salmonella to help in developing next generation of vaccines against Salmonellosis and other diseases; development of engineered probiotic organisms for the delivery of antioxidant enzymes to the human gut for the treatment of inflammatory bowel diseases

Raquel Hernandez
Research Associate Professor
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-515-5786
raquel_hernandez@ncsu.edu

Development of vaccines against four dengue virus serotypes as well as Chikungunya and West Nile viruses

Seth Kullman
Assistant Professor
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-4378
swkullma@ncsu.edu

Research on the activity and regulation of drug and xenobiotic metabolizing enzymes, mechanisms of endocrine disruption as a modulatory factor in carcinogenesis, toxicogenomics and applied environmental toxicology

Scott Laster
Professor
Microbiology
919-515-7958
scott_laster@ncsu.edu

Examination of innate immunity to viral and bacterial pathogens and development of novel, plant-derived anti-microbial and anti-inflammatory compounds

Steven A. Lommel
William Neal Reynolds Professor
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research
919-515-2717
steve_lommel@ncsu.edu

Using plant viruses as a nano-scale drug delivery vessel to targeted cell types

Marce Lorenzen
Assistant Professor
Entomology
919-513-7857
marce_lorenzen@ncsu.edu

Development of methods for suppressing disease from dengue viruses based on the use of transgenic strains of mosquitoes that can no longer transmit the virus to humans

Carla Mattos
Associate Professor
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-513-2556
carla_mattos@ncsu.edu

Structural analysis of the complete binding surfaces of small monomeric GTPases, which is significant for understanding of basic mechanisms of normal Ras activation and oncogenesis

Stuart Maxwell
Professor
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-515-5803
stu_maxwell@ncsu.edu

Understanding of synthesis, structure and function of the small nuclear RNAs that may allow design of potentially therapeutic molecules to regulate cell growth and development in human diseases

Trudy Mackay
William Neal Reynolds and Distinguished University Professor
Genetics
919-515-5810
trudy_mackay@ncsu.edu

Elucidation of genetic networks controlling behavior and metabolism using a Drosophila model (including projects related to alcohol sensitivity, aggression and metabolic disorder)

James Maheffey
Associate Professor
Genetics
919-515-5791
jim_mahaffey@ncsu.edu

Investigation of genetic control of body patterning

Laura Mathies
Assistant Professor
Genetics
919-515-7079
ldmathies@ncsu.edu

Dissection of the genetic control of stem cell development using a Caenorhabditis germ cell model to provide insights into how stem cells and progenitor cells are specified

Jennifer Miller
Assistant Professor
Microbiology
919-515-0723
jen_miller@ncsu.edu

Research on the interaction between the Lyme disease bacterium Borrelia burgdorferi and innate immune system and how these interactions contribute to the development of Lyme arthritis

Paul Mozdziak
Professor
Poultry Science
919-515-5544
pemozdzi@unity.ncsu.edu

Use of avian models for human ovarian cancer diagnostics, prevention and treatment

Dahlia Nielsen
Assistant Professor
Genetics
919-515-2586
dahlia@statgen.ncsu.edu

Genetic analysis of Plasmodium-host interaction using a mouse model to identify genetic factors contributing to susceptibility to malaria and how variation in the host can affect the adaptation by the parasite to the host immune system

Jun Ninomiya-Tsuji
Associate Professor
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-513-1586
jtsuji@unity.ncsu.edu

Investigation of the molecular causes of ulcerative colitis and other inflammatory diseases

James Petitte
Professor
Poultry Science
919-515-5389
j_petitte@ncsu.edu

Application of avian biotechnology to biomedicine and agriculture

Robert Petters
Professor
Animal Science
919-515-4021
bob_petters@ncsu.edu

Use of the pig as a genetic model of diseases affecting sight (retinitis pigmentosa, Stargardt’s macular dystrophy and late-onset retinal degeneration) and determination of state of differentiation and potential uses of spermatogenic cells in infertility>

Ian Petty
Professor
Microbiology
919-515-2393
tim_petty@ncsu.edu

Development of recombinant poxvirus-based vaccine platforms and discovery of antiviral drugs

Michael Roe
William Neal Reynolds Professor
Entomology
919-515-4325
michael_roe@ncsu.edu

Development of delivery technologies for gene therapy, insect and tick repellents, biological herbicides based on natural products, novel transgenics for safe insect control and natural antiseptic hand lotions

Robert Rose
Assistant Professor
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-513-4191
robert_rose@ncsu.edu

Research on the etiology of diseases, particularly diabetes, associated with misregulation of transcription

Coby Schal
Blanton J. Whitmire Distinguished Professor
Entomology
919-515-1821
coby_schal@ncsu.edu

Development, evaluation and demonstration of methods to control cockroaches and reduce their allergen production and isolation and characterization of compounds that attract bed bugs to human hosts and mediate egg-laying decisions in mosquitoes

Frank Scholle
Assistant Professor
Microbiology
919-513-7574
frank_scholle@ncsu.edu

Investigation of interactions of flaviviruses, which are involved in yellow, dengue and West Nile fevers, with host immune system, particularly the detection mechanisms that play dominant roles in establishing protective immunity

Max Scott
Associate Professor
Genetics
919-515-0275
max_scott@ncsu.edu

Determination of how long-term learning and memory are controlled using a Drosophila model, with goal of identifying chromatin and gene expression changes required for maintaining long-term memories

Michael Sikes
Assistant Professor
Microbiology
919-515-7867
mike_sikes@ncsu.edu

Dissection of the epigenetic steps that guide the normal development of the immune system as well as their roles in the pathologies of immunodeficiency, autoimmunity and cancer

Robert Smart
Professor and Director of Graduate Programs
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-7245
robert_smart@ncsu.edu

Investigation of gene-environment interactions that determine an individual’s susceptibility to cancer and leadership for the Center for Human Health and the Environment

Eric Stone
Assistant Professor
Genetics
919-513-1221
eric_stone@ncsu.edu

Development of analytic tools to identify genetic networks controlling complex phenotypes; the new algorithms will have application to a variety of phenotypes and diseases and across organisms, including humans

David Threadgill
Professor and Department Head
Genetics
919-515-2292
threadgill@ncsu.edu

Identification of genetic factors contributing to differential cancer susceptibility and response to drugs and environmental contaminants

Paul Wollenzien
Professor
Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
919-515-5703
paul_wollenzien@ncsu.edu

Investigation of the structure and function of bacterial ribosomes

Share this story:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest

Category: ,

Comments are closed.

Privacy Statement | University Policies | Contact