Ecology and wildlife

Date posted: April 6, 2012

Andrea LuckyBecky Kirkland photoAn innovative project from N.C. State's Department of Biology is tapping the curiositiy of young and old -- and all ages in between -- in an attempt to map the ants living in urban areas across the United States. Dr. Andrea Lucky says the ant biodiversity map could help scientists measure the effects of climate change, urbanization and invasive species.

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Environmental Experts

D. Derek Aday
Associate Professor
Biology
919-513-7568
derek_aday@ncsu.edu

Focuses on general issues in freshwater and marine systems, from conservation and toxicology to population biology and fisheries management; studies mercury contamination of aquatic systems and fish

Russell Borski
Professor
Biology
919-515-8105
russell_borski@ncsu.edu

Studies the endocrine and environmental control and functional genomics of sex determination, hydromineral balance and growth using primarily fish model systems, including those of aquacultural importance

David Buchwalter
Associate Professor and Director, Environmental Toxicology Concentration
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-513-1129
david_buchwalter@ncsu.edu

Conducts research on the ecological physiology of aquatic insects and their use as indicators of environmental quality

Jeffrey Buckel
Professor
Biology
252-222-6341
jeffrey_buckel@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to population dynamics of fishery resources, processes that underlie recruitment variability in marine and estuarine fishes and influence of abiotic factors and biotic interactions on growth and mortality of juvenile fishes

Jaime Collazo
Professor and Assistant Unit Leader, N.C. Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Biology
919-515-8837
jaime_collazo@ncsu.edu

Concentrates on population dynamics and estimation, species-habitat relationships, endangered species research and management and gap analysis

Robert Dunn
Associate Professor
Biology
919-513-7569
rob_dunn@ncsu.edu

Investigates the ecology and evolution of everyday species, be they bacteria, ants or mites

Jim Gilliam
Professor
Biology
919-515-5978
james_gilliam@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to behavioral ecology, especially decision-making by prey faced with conflicting demands (foraging, survival, reproduction); behavioral control of demographic rates; population fragmentation and movement among local populations; tropical biology; mathematical biology; and aquatic ecology, especially of stream fish

John Godwin
Associate Professor
Biology
919-513-2936
john_godwin@ncsu.edu

Applies neurobiological and genomic approaches to problems in behavioral biology and behavioral evolution in fishes, lizards and mammals

Larry Grand
Professor and Teaching Coordinator
Plant Pathology
919-515-2667
larry_grand@ncsu.edu

Conducts research addressing the biogeography of wood-decay fungi in North Carolina

Kevin Gross
Associate Professor
Statistics
919-513-8072
kevin_gross@ncsu.edu

Develops mathematical and statistical models of the dynamics of ecological communities

Nick Haddad
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor
Biology
919-515-4588
nick_haddad@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to the ecological consequences of global change, effects of habitat loss and fragmentation on populations, communities and ecosystems; and effects of habitat corridors on dispersal in fragmented landscapes

Harold Heatwole
Professor
Biology
919-515-7522
harold_heatwole@ncsu.edu

Is a foremost authority on sea snakes and studies vegetation dynamics; community ecology of islands and of deserts; herbivory in tree canopies; thermal ecology and water balance; diving physiology; and population biology

Joe Hightower
Professor and Assistant Unit Leader, N.C. Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Biology
919-515-8836
jhightower@ncsu.edu

Evaluates factors regulating abundance of migratory fishes in coastal rivers

Clinton Jenkins
Research Scholar
Biology
clinton_jenkins@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to exploring and protecting biodiversity; research paths include building 3-D models of the endangered bird diversity of Rio de Janeiro, studying ants using satellites in space and charting a sustainable future for the Peruvian Amazon

William Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Plant Biology
919-513-7668
wahoffma@ncsu.edu

Focuses on understanding the effects of drought, climate and fire in forest and savanna ecosystems of North America and Brazil and on deciphering the origin and evolution of plants of the savanna biome

Shuijin Hu
Associate Professor
Plant Pathology
919-515-2097
shuijin_hu@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to soil microbial ecology, including microbial mediation of plant and ecosystem responses to global change; microbial interactions and pathogen/disease suppression; microbial mediation of plant interactions; and effects of disturbance on the structure and activities of soil organisms

Alexander Krings
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
919-515-2700
alexander_krings@ncsu.edu

Focuses on biodiversity and conservation, especially the discovery and taxonomic circumscription of plant taxa; assessment of rarity and endangerment; species listing; rare species surveys; and floristic inventory of natural areas

Thomas Kwak
Professor and Leader, N.C. Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research UnitBiology
919-513-2696
tkwak@ncsu.edu

Studies the impact of environmental alterations, such as habitat degradation and non-native species introductions, on the fish and aquatic communities in freshwater rivers and streams, with the goal of informing sound ecosystem and fisheries conservation and management

R. Brian Langerhans
Assistant Professor
Biology
919-515-3514
langerhans@ncsu.edu

Focuses on the origins of biological diversity, centering on predator-prey interactions, evolution of morphology and locomotor abilities, speciation, effects of human activities on rapid evolutionary change and the predictability of evolution, especially in fishes and lizards

Marianne Niedzlek-Feaver
Associate Professor
Biology
919-515-9051
mnfeaver@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to the evolutionary ecology of reproductive behavior

Ken Pollock
Professor Biology
919-513-7566
pollock@ncsu.edu

Focuses on applied statistical methods for fisheries and wildlife, especially estimation of demographic parameters for animal populations, sampling theory, population dynamics models, and fisheries tagging models

James Rice
Professor and Extension Fisheries Specialist
Biology
919-515-4592
jim_rice@ncsu.edu

Studies predator-prey interactions and food web dynamics in aquatic systems, direct and indirect fish responses to hypoxia and bioenergetics modeling of stress and predation

Michelle Schroeder-Moreno
Assistant Professor
Crop Science
919-513-0085
michelle_schroeder@ncsu.edu

Leads N.C. State’s agroecology educational programs and conducts research on the scholarship of teaching and learning and on the ecology of beneficial arbuscular mycorrhizal soil fungi in sustainable agroecosystems

Ted Simons
Professor and Assistant Leader, N.C. Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Biology
919-515-2689
ted_simons@ncsu.edu

Examines the effects of habitat loss and human disturbance on coastal waterbirds

Clyde Sorenson
Professor
Entomology
919-515-8427
clyde_sorenson@ncsu.edu

Has expertise in North Carolina natural history and teaches and conducts outreach programs related to insect biology, ecology, human interactions and management

Craig Sullivan
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor
Biology
919-515-7186
craig_sullivan@ncsu.edu

Investigates the reproductive physiology and selective breeding of fishes, especially species important to fisheries and aquaculture

Thomas Wentworth
Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor
Plant Biology9
19-515-2168
tom_wentworth@ncsu.edu

Investigates the natural vegetation of the Carolinas, with emphasis on classification, description and environmental settings of natural communities from the mountains to the coast

Jenny Xiang
Associate Professor
Plant Biology
919-515-2728
jenny_xiang@ncsu.edu

Focuses on understanding the origin, evolution and conservation of plant biodiversity with emphasis on ornamental, rare and endangered species

Share this story:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest

Category: ,

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

Privacy Statement | University Policies | Contact