Environmental health

Date posted: April 11, 2012

Dr. Heather PatisaulRoger Winstead photoDr. Heather Patisaul conducts groundbreaking research into how hormones in early fetal and neonatal development create differences in male and female brain circuits and behaviors. She is particularly interested in whether exposure to modern synthetic estrogens alters those sex differences -- and if so, how and when these changes take place.

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences Environmental Experts

Robert Anholt
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor
Biology and Genetics
919-515-2273
robert_anholt@ncsu.edu

Studies oxidative stress and neurogenetic networks in an insect model as a way to understand genetic and environmental factors related to the risk of developing Parkinson’s disease

James Bonner
Associate Professor
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-8615
james_bonner@ncsu.edu

Studies the toxicity of environmentally relevant engineered nanomaterials

Greg Cope
Professor
Department Extension Leader and Agromedicine Coordinator
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-5296
greg_cope@ncsu.edu

Studies the biology, ecology and ecotoxicology of native freshwater mussels and imperiled fish; the transport, fate and effects of environmental contaminants; and the physiological responses of aquatic organisms to chemical and non-chemical stressors

Alexandria Graves
Assistant Professor
Soil Science
919-513-0635
alexandria_graves@ncsu.edu

Conducts soil and environmental microbiology research, including studies using antibiotic-resistance genes to determine sources of fecal pollution in surface and ground waters, soil and food

Seth Kullman
Associate Professor
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-4378
seth_kullman@ncsu.edu

Studies the release, fate and transport of estrogenic compounds in animal waste treatment and storage facilities

Gerald LeBlanc
Professor and Department Head
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-7404
gerald_leblanc@ncsu.edu

Focuses on the endocrine-disrupting toxicity of environmental chemicals and modeling the toxicity of environmentally relevant chemical mixtures

Carolyn Mattingly
Associate Professor
Biology
919-515-1509
carolyn_mattingly@ncsu.edu

Uses bioinformatics and comparative genomics approaches to identify and explore molecular pathways that are targeted by environmental exposures with the goal of providing insights into the mechanisms underlying environmentally influenced birth defects and diseases

Heather Patisaul
Associate Professor
Biology
919-513-7567
heather_patisaul@ncsu.edu

Examines the steroid-dependent mechanisms through which sexually dimorphic behaviors and brain circuits arise and the mechanism by which sexually dimorphic systems and behaviors can be disrupted by environmental estrogens, particularly mechanisms by which exposure to estrogens can advance puberty and impair fertility in females

Damian Shea
Professor
Biology
919-515-4663
d_shea@ncsu.edu

Conducts research to better understand the mechanisms that control the fate and bioavailability of chemicals in the aquatic environment, so that we can quantitatively model and measure exposure to chemicals

Julia Storm
Agromedicine Information Specialist
Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
919-515-7961
julia_storm@ncsu.edu

Through agromedicine programs, addresses the occupational, community and environmental health and safety concerns of people involved in agriculture, forestry and fisheries through research, education and outreach; interests include pesticide and environmental toxicology

David Threadgill
Department Head
Genetics
919-515-2292
threadgill@ncsu.edu

Investigates the role of environmental contaminants such as dioxin and trichloroethylene in eliciting toxicities and develops new paradigms to test biological consequences of environmental contaminants

Be Sociable, Share!

Category: ,

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Privacy Statement | University Policies | Contact