Land and water

Date posted: April 11, 2012

Darcey Martin and R.N. Harris Elementary School students.Marc Hall photoIn Durham County, Extension Master Gardener volunteers, including Darcey Martin (left), deliver hands-on science lessons that connect R.N. Harris Elementary School students to the world of soils and plants.

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Environmental Experts

Aziz Amoozegar
Professor
Soil Science
919-515-3967
aziz_amoozegar@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to the movement of water and pollutants from municipal and industrial wastes through soils and their underlying strata and related to the characterization of soil materials for waste disposal

Ted Bilderback
Professor and Director, JC Raulston Arboretum
Horticultural Science
919-513-7006
ted_bilderback@ncsu.edu

Through the JC Raulston Arboretum and the NCSU nursery management program, coordinates many projects with environmental impacts, including projects using rain garden filter beds and plant selection in remediating effluent impacts to stormwater and public watersheds and improving nutrient and water use efficiency for containerized nursery crops through irrigation methods and substrate composition

François Birgand
Assistant Professor
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-513-2499
francois_birgand@ncsu.edu

Investigates the hydrological and biogeochemical processes in watersheds and in ecologically engineered systems to improve water quality

Lucy Bradley
Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist
Horticultural Science
919-513-2001
lucy_bradley@ncsu.edu

Conducts extension education programs related to urban horticulture

Steve Broome
Professor
Soil Science
919-513-2555
stephen_broome@ncsu.edu

Conducts research emphasizing the application of agronomic principles to environmental restoration and conservation; interests include propagation and mineral nutrition of coastal sand dune, salt marsh and fresh water wetland vegetation for erosion control, habitat creation, restoration and mitigation; constructed wetlands for wastewater treatment; biofilters for nonpoint source drainage; and revegetation of mined land

Mike Burchell
Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-513-7372
mike_burchell@ncsu.edu

Conducts applied research to improve the restoration of degraded ecosystems such as wetlands and stream corridors and develops and improves technologies and management techniques for water quality protection

JoAnn Burkholder
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor
Plant Biology919-515-2726
joann_burkholder@ncsu.edu

Conducts research on the quantification and impacts of nutrient over-enrichment and related pollutants on freshwaters and estuaries; climate change-related pressures on aquatic food webs; and strengthening the protection of drinking water supplies through real-time, early-warning monitoring systems

John Classen
Associate Professor
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6800
john_classen@ncsu.edu

Develops techniques and tools to recover and reuse nutrients from animal production operations in ways that will promote agricultural productivity and environmental sustainability

Carl Crozier
Professor
Soil Science
252-793-4428
carl_crozier@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to the fate of raw manures, composts and novel products derived from animal wastes and accompanying management practices to protect environmental and human health

Harry Daniels
Professor and Interim Department Head
Biology
919-515-4590
harry_daniels@ncsu.edu

Is developing a plant-based system for treating effluents from fish ponds; the system involves land-application of water from fish ponds onto trees and annual crops to remove and filter excess nutrients and solids through normal biological processes

John Dole
Professor and Interim Department Head
Horticultural Science
919-515-3131
john_dole@ncsu.edu

Coordinates research and extension efforts on floral crops — especially cut flowers, vegetatively-propagated bedding plants and poinsettias — with an emphasis on cost-efficient, environmentally friendly production and postharvest handling methods

Owen Duckworth
Assistant Professor
Soil Science
919-513-1577
owen_duckworth@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to how organisms affect the solubility and mobility of nutrients and toxic metals and to quantifying the bioavailability of metals from coal fly ash

Robert Evans, P.E.
Professor and Head
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6700
robert_evans@ncsu.edu

Develops, implements and evaluates agricultural best management practices to minimize nitrogen and phosphorus transport in drainage waters

Barbara Fair
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Science
919-513-2804
barbara_fair@ncsu.edu

Focuses on efficient use of water in the landscape, sustainable landscaping, soil compaction and proper planting, plant selection and maintenance, especially for the urban landscape

Bill Fonteno
Professor
Horticultural Science
919-515-5368
bill_fonteno@ncsu.edu

Conducts research on the functional properties and use of horticultural substrates and urban soils and coordinates a national certification program for potting soils, soil amendments and mulches

Garry Grabow, P.E.
Associate Professor and Extension Leader
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-513-7348
garry_grabow@ncsu.edu

Investigates systems using soil-moisture sensors and weather feedback to improve wastewater irrigation efficiency

Julie Grossman
Assistant Professor
Soil Science
919-513-1041
julie_grossman@ncsu.edu

Focuses on development of approaches to reduce nitrogen and phosphorus contamination to soils and waterways by improving plant-microbe interactions in managed ecosystems, especially those involving leguminous plants; investigates ways to improve soil health in organic farming systems through soil organic matter development and maintenance

Chris Gunter
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Science
919-513-2807
chris_gunter@ncsu.edu

Develops and evaluates vegetable production methods with reduced fertilizer and chemical inputs and conducts research on two technologies (copper ionization and chlorination) for remediation of water to be used for irrigation

Josh Heitman
Assistant Professor
Soil Science
919-513-1593
josh_heitman@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to understanding water movement and storage in soil, soil temperature and heat transfer, and soil physical properties

Dean Hesterberg
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor
Soil Science
919-513-3035
dean_hesterberg@ncsu.edu

Studies the binding of phosphorus and toxic metals in soils and waste materials to decrease the negative impacts on the environment and human health

Mike Hoover
Professor
Soil Science
919-515-7305
mike_hoover@ncsu.edu

Develops small-scale water and wastewater reuse systems, conducts field assessments of pathogen impacts of those systems and develops related national standards

Rod Huffman
Associate Professor
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6740
rod_huffman@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to groundwater hydrology and contaminant transport associated with agricultural systems and wetlands

Bill Hunt, P.E.
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6751
wfhunt@ncsu.edu

Conducts applied stormwater management research and outreach related to how stormwater systems work to improve water quality and hydrology and how stormwater management devices should be evaluated

Michael Hyman
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Programs
Microbiology
919-515-7814
michael_hyman@ncsu.edu

Investigates microbial processes impacting the formation and degradation of inorganic and organic pollutants in soils and water

Brian Jackson
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Science
919-513-3187
brian_jackson@ncsu.edu

Conducts research to reduce the use of peat moss and perlite in greenhouse crop production with the use of local and sustainable materials, including wood and agricultural wastes, and to produce substrates using all organic components

Greg Jennings, P.E.
Professor and Extension Specialist
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-600-4790
jennings@ncsu.edu

Focuses on stream restoration for improving water quality and ecosystem sustainability

Helen Kraus
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Science
919-515-1208
helen_kraus@ncsu.edu

Develops media/soil mixes and plant selection guidelines for urban stormwater runoff pollution remediation by rain gardens and best management practices for irrigation and fertilization of nursery crops, especially herbaceous perennials

David Lindbo
Professor
Soil Science
919-515-2635
david_lindbo@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to decentralized wastewater management system functioning and the fate and transport of nutrients and microbial and chemical pollutants from land-applied biosolids

Tom Losordo
Professor and Department Extension Leader
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6784
tlosordo@unity.ncsu.edu

Develops aquaculture products using technology, including water reuse systems, with little or no impact on the local environment

Rich McLaughlin
Professor
Soil Science
919-515-7306
rich_mclaughlin@ncsu.edu

Conducts applied research, education and training on construction site best management practices that improve stormwater quality

Grady Miller
Professor
Crop Science
919-515-5656
grady_miller@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to turfgrass nutrition and water issues, to new cultivar evaluation and to performance of athletic fields, with the goal of maximizing aesthetic appeal and performance of turfgrass areas, with consideration given to environmental or economic limitations

Deanna Osmond
Professor and Department Extension Leader
Soil Science
919-515-7303
deanna_osmond@ncsu.edu

Conducts research and outreach to protect the environment and human health through agricultural practices that reduce pollution

Charles Peacock
Professor
Crop Science
919-515-7615
charles_peacock@ncsu.edu

Develops turfgrass best management practices for environmental protection

Matthew Polizzotto
Assistant Professor
Soil Science
919-515-2040
matt_polizzotto@ncsu.edu

Uses multi-scale approaches in examining the processes controlling contaminants in the environment, particularly when they pose threats to drinking water quality, are impacted by agricultural practices and have direct public policy implications

Tom Rufty
Bayer Environmental Sciences Distinguished Professor of Sustainable Development
Crop Science
919-515-3660
tom_rufty@ncsu.edu

Investigates water-use controls by crop species and turfgrasses that will lead to increased water use efficiencies; studies nitrogen use efficiency and release of nitrous oxide into the atmosphere; also researches carbon footprints of turfgrass systems and the factors controlling carbon accumulation in the root zone (carbon sequestration)

Danesha Seth Carley
Assistant Professor and Coordinator, CALS Sustainability Programs
Crop Science/CALS Administration
919-515-2717
danesha_carley@ncsu.edu

Conducts research and teaching programs focusing on sustainable managed ecosystems (such as golf courses, recreational areas and parks) and the importance of green space in the urban environment

Rhonda Sherman
Extension Specialist
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6770
sherman@ncsu.edu

Conducts research and extension education programs on vermicomposting, composting, recycling and reduction of waste destined for landfills

Wei Shi
Associate Professor
Soil Science
919-513-4641
wei_shi@ncsu.edu

Conducts research on soil carbon sequestration, nitrogen cycling and microbial community structure and function relevant to soil trace gas fluxes in managed and natural ecosystems

R. Wayne Skaggs, P.E.
William Neal Reynolds and Distinguished University Professor
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6739
skaggs@ncsu.edu

Develops methods to quantify the hydrology and water quality of poorly drained soils, including wetlands and artificially drained agricultural lands

Jot Smyth
Professor
Soil Science
919-515-2838
jot_smyth@ncsu.edu

Conducts research focusing on minimizing detrimental on- and off-site environmental consequences through refinement of soil test diagnoses and associated lime/nutrient recommendations, on the diversity of commercial and waste byproducts used on crops, and on soil characteristics throughout the physiographic regions of North Carolina

Anne Spafford
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Science
919-515-1190
anne_spafford@ncsu.edu

Conducts research and outreach related to rain gardening (reducing stormwater runoff and improving water quality) and is co-author of Rain Gardening in the South: Ecologically Designed Gardens for Drought, Deluge and Everything in Between

Michael Vepraskas
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor
Soil Science
919-515-1458
michael_vepraskas@ncsu.edu

Investigates climate change’s potential impact on septic systems; wetlands restoration for water quality; and fate and transport of microbial and chemical pollutants in land-applied waste disposal

Dennis Werner
Raulston Distinguished Professor
Horticultural Science
919-513-3174
dennis_werner@ncsu.edu

Develops sterile (seedless) varieties of the butterfly bush, a popular ornamental plant, eliminating the risk of escape from landscape settings and subsequent spread in natural habitats

Brian Whipker
Professor
Horticultural Science
919-515-5374
brian_whipker@ncsu.edu

Conducts research on greenhouse floral crops, focusing on understanding the use of fertility and water quality and growth optimization using best management practices

Jeffrey White
Associate Professor
Soil Science
919-515-2389
jeff_white@ncsu.edu

Focuses on protecting water quality through appropriate management of agricultural nutrients from fertilizers and biosolids; on developing and evaluating agricultural practices that limit soil erosion and movement into surface waters; and on using remote sensing to aid wetland restoration and quantify restoration impacts on water quality

C. Mike Williams
Professor
Poultry Science
919-513-0469
mike_williams@ncsu.edu

Investigates livestock and poultry waste management technology development and environmental performance verification; value-added processing of animal production agriculture co-products; and human exposure to antibiotic-resistant and pathogenic enteric bacteria from animal agriculture sources

Mohamed Youssef
Assistant Professor
Biological and Agricultural Engineering
919-515-6717
mayousse@ncsu.edu

Conducts research related to the hydrology and biogeochemistry of agricultural and forested lands with high water table soils, focusing on quantifying the response of and developing methods for adapting these ecosystems to emerging changes in land use and potential changes in the climate

Share this story:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest

Category: ,

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Privacy Statement | University Policies | Contact