Preparation of Health Leaders Experts

Date posted: August 17, 2010

When it comes to the future of health care in North Carolina, nothing matters more than preparing the people who will lead the way. CALS’ efforts touch people even before they get to college: Our 4-H youth development program introduces children of all ages to the fourth H — health — through projects, workshops and community service. The College also offers several undergraduate degree programs and advising services that prepare students for medical, dental and pharmacy schools, as well as for related careers in nutrition, genetics, bioprocessing, life sciences research and more.

Robert Anholt
William Neal Reynolds Professor and Director, W.M. Keck Center for Behavioral Biology
919-515-1173
robert_anholt@ncsu.edu

Understanding chemosensory behavior in Drosophila, a powerful genetic model system for human health (startle behavior, alcohol sensitivity, glaucoma)

Pam Arroway
Assistant Department Head
Statistics
919-515-1955
pam_arroway@ncsu.edu

Co-director, Summer Institute for Training in Biostatistics, a 6-week summer program funded by the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute to introduce talented undergraduates to biostatistics

Sarah Ash
Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
919-515-4043
sarah_ash@ncsu.edu

Development of interdisciplinary summer course on community food security; the course includes community service components

James W. Brown
Associate Professor and Coordinator, Undergraduate Teaching
Microbiology
919-515-8803
james_brown@ncsu.edu

Coordination of B.S. in microbiology degree

Jennifer Campbell
Undergraduate Coordinator, Zoology
Biology
919-513-7570
jenny_campbell@ncsu.edu

Coordination of B.S. in zoology degree

Stephanie E. Curtis
Professor and Director, Academic Programs
Genetics
919-515-5747
securtis@ncsu.edu

Oversight of undergraduate and graduate academic programs in genetics

Anita Flick
Director, Health Professions Advising, and Teaching Assistant Professor
Biology
919-513-7312
health_pac@ncsu.edu

Coordination of human biology concentration and chair of health professions review committee

Suzie Goodell
Assistant Professor
Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
919-513-2632
suzie_goodell@ncsu.edu

Development of student service-learning and volunteer projects related to nutrition education and research on motivating parents to promote calcium intake among early adolescents and on parent-child mealtime interactions and obesity

William Grant
Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator, Biological Sciences
Biology
919-515-3341
bill_grant@ncsu.edu

Coordination of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute grant, with outreach, precollege and undergraduate components

James A. Knopp
Associate Professor and Director, Undergraduate Programs
Biochemistry
919-515-5828
jaknopp@ncsu.edu

Coordination of B.S. in biochemistry degree

Jane Lubischer
Director, Undergraduate Programs
Biology
919-515-2587
jane_lubischer@ncsu.edu

Oversight of B.S. in biological sciences and B.S. in zoology degrees

John Sheppard
Professor and Coordinator, Bioprocessing Science
Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
919-513-0802
john.sheppard@ncsu.edu

Development of bioprocessing science courses Biopharmaceutical Sciences, Process Validation Science and Industrial Microbiology and Bioprocessing Lab

Kim Weems
Associate Professor
Statistics
919-515-1924
kim_weems@ncsu.edu

Recruitment for Summer Institute for Training in Biostatistics, a 6-week summer program funded by the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute to introduce talented undergraduates to biostatistics

Be Sociable, Share!

Category: ,

Comments are closed.

Privacy Statement | University Policies | Contact