2015 Field Day/Event Calendar

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
North Carolina State University

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at North Carolina State University sponsors field days on agricultural commodities ranging from apples and cotton to tomatoes, turf and sweet potatoes. We will list field day information as it becomes available throughout the year.

Please Note: If you wish to participate in a field day and have a disability or desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations in order to participate, please contact 919.515.2717 during business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at least two weeks before the event to request accommodations.

2015 Field Days/Events

Field Day
Date
Location
Information
Small Grain Field Day, Northeast Ag Expo Thurs., March 12
12 noon
White Hat Seed Farm
102 White Hat Road
Herford, NC
map
Al Wood
252-338-6442
al_wood@ncsu.edu

Wolfpack Roundup
Student Livestock Sale
Sat., April  11
11 a.m.

Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

Gary Gregory
919-515-4027
gary_gregory@ncsu.edu
Farm Animal Days Weds. - Fri.,
April 15, 16, 17
9 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

Brent Jennings
919-515-4467
brent_jennings@ncsu.edu

Small Grain Field Day,
Central Piedmont
Thurs., April 16 Registration:
9:30 a.m.
Program: 10 a.m.
Piedmont Research Station
Salisbury, NC
map
Joe Hampton
704-278-2624
Piedmont.ResSt@ncagr.gov

Small Gain Field Day, Coastal Plain Thurs., April 23 Registration:
4 p.m.
Forbis Farms
18352 N Carolina 71
Lumber Bridge, NC
map

Mac Malloy
910-671-3276 mac_malloy@ncsu.edu

NC State Swine Research Forum Tues., May 12 Sampson County Extension Center
55 Agriculture Place
Clinton, NC 28328
map
Mark Knauer
919-515-8797
mtknauer@ncsu.edu

Small Grain Field Day, Lower Piedmont Thurs., May 14
10 a.m.

Gillard Brothers Farm
5616 Old Highway Road Monroe, NC
map
Andrew Baucom
704-283-3739
andrew_baucom@ncsu.edu

Small Grain Field Day,
Tidewater

Thurs., May 21
2 p.m.
Griffin Farms
1694 Avenue Road Washington, NC
map
Rod Gurganus
252-946-0111
rod_gurganus@ncsu.edu
Sandhills Turfgrass Field Day June TBA Sandhills Research Station
Jackson Springs, NC
map

Jenifer Jordan
919-515-5855
jenifer_jordan@ncsu.edu

Farm to Fork event
Sun., June 7
Breeze Family Farm Center
Hurdle Mills, NC
map
Carl Matyac
919-250-1116
carl_matyac@ncsu.edu

Landscape Color
Field Day
Thurs., June 25
8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
JC Raulston Arboretum and Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
Brian Whipker
919-515-5374
brian_whipker@ncsu.edu
NE Ag. Expo (Corn) TBA TBA Al Wood
252-338-3954
al_wood@ncsu.edu

NC Tobacco Tour TBA Multiple locations in eastern NC Mina Mila
919-513-1291
almila@ncsu.edu

Blacklands Farm Managers Tour Weds., Aug. 5 TBA Rod Gurganus
252-946-0111
rod_gurganus@ncsu.edu
Tomato and Vegetable Field Day Thurs., Aug. 6 Mountain Horticultural Crops Research Station
Mills River, NC
map
Jeff Chandler
828-684-7197
jeff_chandler@ncsu.edu
Turfgrass Field Day Weds, Aug. 12 Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
Rick Brandenburg
919-515-8876
rick_brandenburg@ncsu.edu
Beef Cattle Field Day Aug. TBA Mountain Research Station 265 Test Farm Rd. Waynesville, NC
map
Kaleb Rathbone
828-456-3943
Mountain.ResSt@ncagr.gov

Peanut Field Day Thurs., Sept. 10 Peanut Belt Research Station
Lewiston-Woodville, NC
map
David Jordan
919-515-4068
david_jordan@ncsu.edu
Southeast Peanut
Field Day
Sept. TBA Border Belt Research Station
Whiteville, NC
map
David Jordan
919-515-4068
david_jordan@ncsu.edu
Soybean Breeding
Field Day
TBA TBA Tommy Carter
919-513-1480
thomas.carter@ars.usda.gov

Sweetpotato Field Day TBA TBA Jonathan Schultheis
919-515-1225
jonathan_schultheis@ncsu.edu
Poinsettia Field Day Tues., Dec 1 from
9 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
John Dole
919-515-3131
john_dole@ncsu.edu
Tobacco Day Thurs., Dec 3 Johnston County Extension Center
Smithfield, NC
map
Mina Mila
919-513-1291
almila@ncsu.edu