2014 Field Day/Event Calendar

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
North Carolina State University

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at North Carolina State University sponsors field days on agricultural commodities ranging from apples and cotton to tomatoes, turf and sweet potatoes. We will list field day information as it becomes available throughout the year.

Please Note: If you wish to participate in a field day and have a disability or desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations in order to participate, please contact 919.515.2717 during business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at least two weeks before the event to request accommodations.

2014 Field Days/Events

Field Day
Date
Location
Information
Contact
Farm Animal Days
April 9, 10, 11
Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

website
Brent Jennings
919-515-4467
brent_jennings@ncsu.edu

Wolfpack Roundup
Student Livestock Sale
April 12
Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

website Gary Gregory
919-515-4027
gary_gregory@ncsu.edu
Hay Field Day
and Equipment Demonstration
April 16
Piedmont Research Station
Salisbury, NC
map

website Joe Hampton
704-278-2624
joe.hampton@ncagr.gov

Robeson County Small Grain Field Day May 6 75 Gene Road
Pembroke, NC

website Mac Malloy
910-671-3276 mac_malloy@ncsu.edu

Small Grain Field Day
May 7
Piedmont Research Station
Salisbury, NC
map
program Randy Weisz
919-515-5824 randy_weisz@ncsu.edu

Chowan County Small Grain Field Day May 9 2824 Virginia Road
Tyner, NC
website Al Woods
252-388-3954
Union County Small Frain Field Day May 13 3221 Lawyers Road
East Monroe, NC

website Andrew Baucom
704-283-3739
andrew_baucom@ncsu.edu
Small Grain Field Day May 15 Tidewater Research Station
Plymouth, NC
map
website Lance Grimes
919-793-2163
lance_grimes@ncsu.edu

Sandhills Turfgrass Field Day May 21 Sandhills Research Station
Jackson Springs, NC
map

program Jenifer Jordan
919-515-5855
jenifer_jordan@ncsu.edu

Small Fruit Field Day June 5 Sandhills Research Station
Jackson Springs, NC
map
program Gina Fernandez
919-513-7416
gina_fernandez@ncsu.edu

Farm to Fork event
June 8
Breeze Family Farm Center
Hurdle Mills, NC
map
website Carl Matyac
919-250-1116
carl_matyac@ncsu.edu

Small Fruit Field Day June 19 Piedmont Research Station
Salisbury, NC
map
program Gina Fernandez
919-513-7416
gina_fernandez@ncsu.edu

Landscape Color
Field Day
June 20
JC Raulston Arboretum and Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
program Brian Whipker
919-515-5374
brian_whipker@ncsu.edu
Mountain Research Field Day July 10 Mountain Research Station
Waynesville, NC
website Kalep Rathbone
828-456-3943
NC Tobacco Tour July 14-16 Edwards Farm
Upper Coastal Plain Research Station
Rocky Mount, NC
map
website Mina Mila
919-513-1291
almila@ncsu.edu

Organic Grain Production Field Day July 30 Center for Environmental Farming Systems
Goldsboro, NC
map
website Molly Hamilton
828-273-1041
molly_hamilton@ncsu.edu

Blacklands Farm Managers Tour Aug. 6 Tidewater Research Station
Plymouth, NC
map
website Rod Gurganus
252-946-0111
rod_gurganus@ncsu.edu
Tomato Field Day Aug. 7 Mountain Horticultural Crops Research Station
Mills River, NC
map
program Jeff Chandler
828-684-7197
jeff_chandler@ncsu.edu
Turfgrass Field Day Aug. 13 Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
website

 

Rick Brandenburg
919-515-8876
rick_brandenburg@ncsu.edu
Corn Aflatoxin Control Corn Field Day Aug. 14 Fountain Farm
Upper Coastal Plain Research Station
Rocky Mount, NC
map
program Ron Heiniger
252-793-4428
ron_heiniger@ncsu.edu
Sorghum Field Day Aug. 14 Fountain Farm
Upper Coastal Plain Research Station
Rocky Mount, NC
map
program Ron Heiniger
252-793-4428
ron_heiniger@ncsu.edu
Landscape Professional Field Day and Tour Aug. 15
JC Raulston Arboretum and Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
program Barbara Fair
919-513-2804
barbara_fair@ncsu.edu
Beef Cattle Field Day Aug. 23 Butner Beef Cattle Field Lab
Bahama, NC
map
website Matt Poore
919-515-7798
matt_poore@ncsu.edu
Peanut Field Day Sept. 4 Peanut Belt Research Station
Lewiston-Woodville, NC
map
website David Jordan
919-515-4068
david_jordan@ncsu.edu
Southeast Peanut Field Day Sept. 9 Border Belt Research Station
Whiteville, NC
map
coming soon David Jordan
919-515-4068
david_jordan@ncsu.edu
Cotton Field Day Sept. 10 East Carolina Ag Center and Upper Coastal Plain Research Station
Rocky Mount, NC
map
coming soon Keith Edmisten
919-515-4069
keith_edmisten@ncsu.edu
Bioenergy Field Day Sept. 18 Williamsdale Biofuels Field Laboratory
Wallace, NC
coming soon John Garner
910-381-0292
john_garner@ncsu.edu
Sweet Potato Field Day Sept. 18 Horticultural Crops Research Station
Clinton, NC
map
coming soon Jonathan Schultheis
919-515-1225
jonathan_schultheis@ncsu.edu
Small-Scale Egg Production in Range Setting Field Day Sept. 24 CEFS
Cherry Hill Research Farm
Goldsboro, NC
map
coming soon Ken Anderson
919-515-5527
ken_anderson@ncsu.edu
Wild Soybean Breeding Tour Sept. 30 Fountain Farm of Upper Coastal Plains Research Station
Rocky Mount, NC
map
coming soon Earl Taleircio
919-856-4598
Earl.Taliercio@ars.usda.gov
Poinsettia Field Day Dec. 2 Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
coming soon John Dole
919-515-3131
john_dole@ncsu.edu
Tobacco Day Dec. 4 Johnston County Extension Center
Smithfield, NC
map
coming soon Mina Mila
919-513-1291
almila@ncsu.edu