NC State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

 

2015 Field Day/Event Calendar

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at North Carolina State University sponsors field days on agricultural commodities ranging from apples and cotton to tomatoes, turf and sweet potatoes. We will list field day information as it becomes available throughout the year.

Please Note: If you wish to participate in a field day and have a disability or desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations in order to participate, please contact 919.515.2717 during business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at least two weeks before the event to request accommodations.

 

 

Field Day
Date
Location
Information
Small Grain Field Day, Northeast Ag Expo Thurs., March 12
12 noon
White Hat Seed Farm
102 White Hat Road
Hertford, NC
map

Al Wood
252-338-3954
al_wood@ncsu.edu

website

Wolfpack Roundup
Student Livestock Sale
Sat., April 11
11 a.m.

Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

Gary Gregory
919-515-4027
gary_gregory@ncsu.edu

website

Farm Animal Days Weds. - Fri.,
April 15, 16, 17
9 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Beef Unit
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

Brent Jennings
919-515-4467
brent_jennings@ncsu.edu

Small Grain Field Day,
Central Piedmont
Thurs., April 16 Registration:
9:30 a.m.
Program: 10 a.m.
Piedmont Research Station
Salisbury, NC
map
Joe Hampton
704-278-2624
Piedmont.ResSt@ncagr.gov

Small Grain Field Day, Coastal Plain Thurs., April 23 Registration:
4 p.m.
Forbis Farms
18352 N Carolina 71
Lumber Bridge, NC
map

Mac Malloy
910-671-3276 mac_malloy@ncsu.edu

NC State Swine Research Forum Tues., May 12 Sampson County Extension Center
55 Agriculture Place
Clinton, NC 28328
map
Mark Knauer
919-515-8797
mtknauer@ncsu.edu

Small Grain Field Day, Lower Piedmont Thurs., May 14
10 a.m.

Gillard Brothers Farm
5616 Old Highway Road Monroe, NC
map
Andrew Baucom
704-283-3739
andrew_baucom@ncsu.edu

Small Grain Field Day,
Tidewater

Thurs., May 21
2 p.m.
Griffin Farms
1694 Avenue Road
Washington, NC
map
Rod Gurganus
252-946-0111
rod_gurganus@ncsu.edu
Blueberry Field Day Sun., May 24
Registration: 3 p.m.
Program: 3:30 - 6 p.m.
Ideal tract of Castle Hayne Research Station (exit 414 from I-40 and go east on Holly Shelter Rd for 2.7 miles) Bill Cline
910-675-2314
bill_cline@ncsu.edu

Farm to Fork event
Sun., June 7
Breeze Family Farm Center
Hurdle Mills, NC
map

Carl Matyac
919-250-1116
carl_matyac@ncsu.edu

website

Sandhills Turfgrass Field Day Weds., June 10
8:30 a.m.
Sandhills Research Station
Jackson Springs, NC
map

Jenifer Jordan
919-515-5855
jenifer_jordan@ncsu.edu

Small Farm Field Day Thurs., June 11
8 a.m. - 1 p.m.
NC A&T University Farm
R3136 McConnell Road
Greensboro, NC
map
Alexis Gaines
336-285-4661
Landscape Color
Field Day
Thurs., June 25
8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
JC Raulston Arboretum and Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

Brian Whipker
919-515-5374
brian_whipker@ncsu.edu

website

Beef Cattle Field Day Sat., July 18
Registration:
9 a.m.
Mountain Research Station
265 Test Farm Rd.
Waynesville, NC
map

Kaleb Rathbone
828-456-3943
Mountain.ResSt@ncagr.gov

program

NC Tobacco Tour July 20-22
(Mon.-Wed.)
Multiple locations in Eastern NC

Mina Mila
919-513-1291
almila@ncsu.edu

website

NE Ag. Expo (Corn) Thurs., July 30

Bear Garden Farms, LLC
1072 South 343
Shiloh, NC
map

Al Wood
252-338-3954
al_wood@ncsu.edu

website

Blacklands Farm Managers Tour Weds., Aug. 5 Circle Grove Seeds
336 Circle Grove Farm Rd Belhaven, NC
map
Rod Gurganus
252-946-0111
rod_gurganus@ncsu.edu
Turfgrass Field Day Weds, Aug. 12
Registration:
7:30-8:30 a.m.
Lake Wheeler Road Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map

Rick Brandenburg
919-515-8876
rick_brandenburg@ncsu.edu

website

Tomato and Vegetable Field Day Thurs., Aug. 13
Registration:
8 a.m.
Mountain Horticultural Crops Research Station
Mills River, NC
map

Jeff Chandler
828-684-7197
jeff_chandler@ncsu.edu

website

Bioenergy Field Day Thurs., Aug. 27
Registration:
8:30 a.m.
Tour: 9:00 a.m.
Mountain Horticultural Crops Research Station
Mills River, NC
map

Sam Brake
919-693-2483
john_brake@ncsu.edu

website

Peanut Field Day Thurs., Sept. 10 Peanut Belt Research Station
Lewiston-Woodville, NC
map
David Jordan
919-515-4068
david_jordan@ncsu.edu
Southeast Peanut
Field Day
Tues., Sept. 15 Border Belt Research Station
Whiteville, NC
map
David Jordan
919-515-4068
david_jordan@ncsu.edu
Small-Scale Egg Production in a Range Setting Field Day Thurs., Sept. 24
Registration:
9:00 - 9:45 a.m.
Union County Extension Center
3230-D Presson Road
Monroe, NC
map

Ken Anderson
919-515-5527

Soybean Breeding
Field Day
Tues., Sept. 29
(tentative)
Taylor Slade Farm
Williamston, NC
Tommy Carter
919-513-1480
thomas.carter@ars.usda.gov

Sweetpotato Field Day Thurs., Oct. 8
(tentative)

Cunningham Research Station
Kinston, NC
map

Jonathan Schultheis
919-515-1225
jonathan_schultheis@ncsu.edu
Poinsettia Field Day Tues., Dec 1 from
9 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Horticulture Field Lab
Raleigh, NC
map
John Dole
919-515-3131
john_dole@ncsu.edu
Tobacco Day Thurs., Dec 3 Johnston County Extension Center
Smithfield, NC
map
Mina Mila
919-513-1291
almila@ncsu.edu