College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Department of Plant Pathology

Betty Bentley Award

Mrs. Bentley started to work in the department of Plant Pathology in 1960 and was the Administrative Secretary for many years until her retirement in 1981. Betty Bentley had a "strong loyalty to the department with a keen sense of responsibility and a high level of standards" resulting "in a mutual respect and genuine appreciation for her character and dedication to the department". Mrs. Bentley passed away in 1990 and her family established a memorial fund in her name to provide recognition of the outstanding SPA employee in the department each year.

Betty Bentley Award Recipients

2002 Lynne Felt
2001 Josh McIntyre
2000 Anne Jenns
1999 Linda Lancaster
1998 Jennifer Ballard
1997 Greg Para
1996 Joyce Hollowell
1995 J. A. Daughtry
1994 Marvin Williams
1993 David Porter
1992 Ray Wilder

Any SPA employee can be nominated by faculty, students, or fellow SPAs. The nomination procedure follows the guidelines for the University Award of Excellence Program.